Meet Rick & Kelly

A video message from Rick & Kelly

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Rick & Kelly

Hi from the sunny beaches in North Carolina! We have been best friends since second grade and are looking forward to completing our family through adoption! We have been fortunate to have one biological child and, due to infertility, have not been able to have any more children. We are a Military family that enjoys traveling, playing sports, and hosting game nights! For couple time, we enjoy going bowling, spending the day at a theme park, putting our competitive spirits to the test at mini-golf and arcade games, going on hikes to enjoy views of lakes and mountains, and spending time with friends. Our daughter, Olivia, and entire family are very excited to welcome your child into our home and lives! We are open to any level of communication that you would like to have and will always respect your wishes.


About Us

Although we have been friends for most of our lives, our relationship journey did not begin until 15 years ago. We have been happily married for 14 years and are still having fun as best friends in life. We always knew that we wanted to have a large family and are excited to complete this dream through adoption. Having a family member that is a birth mother and a family member who was adopted, will always be a wonderful relationship that your child can find commonality with. We enjoy having friends and their children over every Sunday for family game night and dinner, as well as Taco Tuesdays each week. In our free time you can find us watching the tv show “The Office”, taking walks in the neighborhood with the dogs, going on hikes, riding bikes, and even relaxing on the deck with a good book. While we love our home, we also like to get away and refresh ourselves with mini vacations to the Tennessee mountains which is close, as well as beaches that are a short drive near us too. We also often like to play games together like Sorry, Clue, and Jenga.

Our daughter, Olivia, says that she is most excited to instill a love of books and reading with her new sibling.

About Rick (by Kelly)

Rick is a friendly and outgoing person who always finds a way to connect with those that he is around. In his spare time, Rick enjoys landscaping, skeet shooting (clay discs), and most importantly, spending time with family. Rick enjoys surprising Olivia a couple of times throughout the summer with mini vacations to water and roller coaster parks, which has created amazing memories for them. Rick is most looking forward to sharing these special moments with your child too! Rick decided while in eighth grade that he wanted to become an Army Ranger, and once he graduated high school, he joined the United States Army to do just that. Rick has built a respected career and has fulfilled nine deployments outside of the United States while in the Army, and plans to continue to support our country while now remaining in the States.

About Kelly (by Rick)

Kelly’s joy for life is contagious, and she has a natural way of making others around her feel comfortable and cared for with just her presence. Kelly and I both share a random Rolodex of useless but entertaining knowledge of movie and song quotes, which leave us laughing on a daily basis. Kelly enjoys reading, playing basketball, watching movies, and playing her Super Nintendo with me and Olivia. Kelly works as a Legal Litigation Assistant to the managing partner of a law firm and two other litigation trial attorneys. She is pursuing her college degree in psychology and hopes to continue to law school after, to fulfill her lifelong dream of being an attorney. Kelly will continue her education online so that she can be at home with our child and give them her undivided time and love during their first few years of life. She will guide your child in their faith, education, and extracurricular activities with unconditional support, love, and encouragement.

About Olivia and Our Family

Olivia is our biological daughter who is 14 years old. Liv longs to be a sibling and share her love of books, bicycle riding, swimming, and vacations with your child. She is compassionate, caring to no end, and will always be present for those she loves, including your child.

Our home has two family friendly dogs, Ida & Lucy, that will give all of the snuggles for as long as you let them. They are used to being around small children. The dogs play and give them kisses and of course enjoy all of the extra treats that they get from them.

Our extended family lives in the Midwest and we are able to visit them every Christmas for a week. Kelly’s parents live on several acres of land where we sled, skeet shoot, build bonfires and drink hot cocoa. We also get to experience the wildlife present as some of the land is preserved. Both of our families have experienced a form of adoption, which has given all of us the perspective of all sides of this process and will help your child know that they are not alone and are in a family with adoption experience. Our families are extremely supportive of our desire to adopt and are anxiously waiting to meet your child!

We are excited to share our many Christmas holiday traditions. Every year, our entire families rent a trolley to drive around and look at Christmas lights. We sing Christmas carols, eat the Christmas cookies we baked and decorated earlier that day, and soak in a few hours together where nothing else matters except being together. This has created some of the best memories that we all share as one large, blended family! Another tradition is that every December 23rd, we have a dinner with our immediate family. This allows us to be present and enjoy one another during the chaos of the holiday. This photo is from our most recent dinner.

Our Home in North Carolina

Our home is located in a family friendly neighborhood and features many wonderful amenities. There are two large swimming pools, one wading pool, a splashpad, two volleyball courts, a soccer field, a kids’ playground with a picnic area, a small pond to fish in, and two fitness centers. We have lived in this neighborhood for seven years and have enjoyed every moment of it. We have made lifelong friends with neighbors on our street. Every year Santa and the Easter Bunny come for photos! We also have an amazing neighborhood 4th of July party which features family yard games and contests, as well as food trucks and a professional fireworks show at the end of the evening.

Our home is 2400 square feet and features four bedrooms and a large bonus room (playroom). Your child will have their very own bedroom and bathroom. We have ensured that their bedroom is ready for us to decorate and furnish once we have been matched with you. Their room will be next to ours for quick access to make sure that your child is always safe and taken care of promptly. We already have their first book, On the Night You Were Born, in their room waiting for us to read it to them. It was Olivia’s favorite while she was young, and we all wanted to continue that tradition. The outside of our home features a fenced in backyard where we enjoy playing catch or soccer, and a furnished deck where we love to relax.

Our Promise to You and Your Child

Our promise to you and your child is that we will love and support your child the same way that we do our biological child. We will encourage your child to pursue their creative talents, dreams, and educational goals with patience, support, and unconditional love.

We are open to the relationship that you would like to have with us and will be supportive of your decisions. They will know that that they have two special mothers that care deeply for them; one who gave them life and the other who walked with them in it. You will be a positive part of their childhood, teenage years, and adulthood, if you wish to be. Our family longs to have the opportunity to love and provide for your child and assist in sharing that journey with you!

We’d love to talk or answer any of your questions. Please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Rick & Kelly

  Rick Kelly
Our EducationCollege - AccountingCollege - Psychology and Law
Our ProfessionsUnited States ArmyLegal Litigation Assistant
Stay-At-HomeNoYes (after the adoption)
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasianCaucasian
Some of Rick & Kelly's Favorites
MovieBlack Hawk DownThe Ultimate Gift
TV ShowThe OfficeThe Office
CandyCadbury Caramel EggReese's
Family VacationUniversal StudiosDisney World
MusicCountryEverything - Country, Rock, & Hip-Hop
More About Our Family
Our Special Interests

We enjoy Sunday dinners and Taco Tuesdays with our friends and their children that are like family. We like reading, playing basketball, riding bikes, taking walks with the dogs, and going swimming. Our favorite summer activity is going to theme parks that feature roller coasters and water parks. We also ensure that we have one surprise vacation per year for our daughter.

Our Volunteer Work

We find joy in volunteer work to assist others in our community. We participate in volunteer opportunities with local food banks, homeless shelters, animal shelters, and senior living facilities. We are so blessed and enjoy being able to spend time at these places and make an impact in the lives of the people and animals that we are fortunate enough to interact with. In assisting at animal shelters, we may do things like clean cages or get to have fun by playing with the animals. At food banks we typically are packing the food boxes in an instructed order for them to provide to requested families. Some of the most rewarding memories have been made at senior living facilities. Being able to sit with someone who wants some company and will share stories and experiences from their lifetime with you is irreplaceable. Some of these people do not have family to visit them and that is why we choose to do so, because we would hope that if we were in that situation, someone would do the same for us. Anywhere that we can make a small impact for someone else, is always worth our time.

Our Musical Interest

While we enjoy a large variety of music, our overall favorite is Country. Our favorite concerts that we have attended are Cody Johnson, Luke Combs, and Aerosmith.

Fun Facts

From Kelly:
- I enjoy playing the piano. While I only took lessons for a couple of years in childhood, I continued to self teach into adulthood and find it to be a relaxing and enjoyable hobby. Olivia enjoys it now too, and has been taking piano and guitar lessons for a little over a year.
- I am taking language lessons in the hopes of learning Spanish

From Rick:
- I enjoy competitive shooting competitions. While in the Military, I have been trained on gun safety and accuracy, and find this to be a fun hobby.
- I have also obtained my Certificate in Gunsmithing, which allows me to modify and repair guns.

We are both very athletic and enjoy playing a competitive game of basketball with each other. We have played basketball together since elementary school and have continued this fun activity into adulthood.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn - 2 years old




No Preference

Sibling Group

Yes, up to 6 years old

In Closing

Thank you for taking the time to learn about us and our family. We long to complete our family with your child and envision them enjoying our traditions like weekly Sunday dinners with friends, Taco Tuesdays with homemade salsa and guacamole, our annual family Christmas trolley ride, annual large one-week vacation out of the state/country, many summer mini-vacations, and more. Your child will be a great blessing in all our lives and will always feel special. With our family, they will experience an unconditional fun and loving environment filled with laughter, books, games, and encouragement for the pursuit of their dreams.

Call or Text us